Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

Providing Oversight, Ensuring Compliance

The USDA Animal Welfare Act and the NIH Public Health Service Policy on the Humane Care and Use of Animals require that institutions conducting research with animals establish an Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC). The IACUC provides oversight and helps ensure compliance with all laws, regulations, and policies governing the care and use of research and teaching animals.


  • Review the research facility's program at least once every six months to ensure humane animal care and use.
  • Inspect all of the research facility's animal facilities, including animal study areas, at least once every six months.
  • Prepare reports of these inspections and submit them to the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation (OVCRI) or the chancellor.
  • Review concerns or complaints involving animal care and use at the university.
  • Make recommendations to the VCRI related to any aspect of the animal program.
  • Review and assess proposed activities or changes related to the care and use of animals.
  • Conduct ongoing reviews of activities at least once a year.
  • Suspend activities involving animals that are not in accordance with guidelines and requirements approved by the IACUC.
  • For suspended activities, work with the OVCRI to review the reasons for suspension, take appropriate corrective action, and report that action with a full explanation to the USDA’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) and any federal agency that funds the activity.


  • USDA Registration: #33-R-0029
  • PHS Assurance: D16-00075 (A3118-01)
  • AAALAC: #00766
  • Accredited campuswide since 6/8/2001

IACUC Membership and Members

Members of the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) at the University of Illinois are appointed by the chancellor and the Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation (VCRI). The committee comprises nineteen voting members that include:

  • Four DVMs with training or experience in laboratory animal science and medicine
  • Two non-affiliated members
  • Eight practicing scientists experienced in research involving animals
  • Three members whose primary interests are in a nonscientific area
Committee Members
  • Joshua Gulley, Chair
  • Ryan Dilger, Vice-Chair
  • Sarah Allison
  • Linda Arseneau
  • Hong Chen
  • James Fraley (non-affiliated member)
  • Dennis D. French
  • Lyndon J. Goodly
  • Santiago Gutierrez-Nibeyro
  • Courtney Hayes
  • Nicole Herndon
  • Jeffrey Hoover
  • CheMyong (Jay) Ko
  • Daniel Llano
  • Jan Novakofski, OVCRI Liaison
  • Marcella Ridgway
  • Cory Suski
  • Michael Vitoux (non-affiliated member)
  • Josh Whitson
  • Jessica Xu
  • Dustin Yocum (non-voting member)

Contact Information

Please direct general inquires to or call 217-333-7789.

Main Office

Observatory Building
Room 114, MC-193
901 S. Matthews
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-7789 (phone)
217-244-7963 (fax)

IACUC Contacts

Joshua Gulley
Psychology Building
603 E. Daniel Street, M/C 716

Judy Van Cleeff
IACUC Specialist
Room 109 Observatory

Katherine Branson
IACUC Specialist
Room 118 Observatory

Rebecca Chafel
IACUC Specialist
Room 112 Observatory

Ben Hayek
IACUC Office Manager
Room 114 Observatory
217-333-7789 or 217-300-1960